Mother’s Milk

Continuing with the theme of motherhood this month, I would like to reflect on a specific attribute of the Blessed Mother’s care:
The way she feeds us.

I am tremendously blessed to be a mother and to have had the opportunity to nurse my children when they were young. Although a demanding season of life, it was one of great self-giving that has brought me to a deeper understanding of our own Mother in heaven.

Some background info on nursing. The relationship of a nursing mother to her infant is designed for the mother to respond immediately to her baby’s cry and sooth with nursing. Through this process the infant learns: when I cry out my needs are met. This builds trust.

During nursing, a hormone is released in baby’s and mother’s brain, creating a bond between them and a sense of relaxation. Both feel good after a feeding. This helps them to fall back to sleep peacefully after those middle of the night feedings.


There have been some remarkable findings in the scientific studies of human milk. It contains strands of proteins and fatty acids contributing to brain and nervous system development that are not repeatable in man-made baby formula. A connection has been found between this and lifelong health and high intelligence. And although there are exceptions, as a general rule breastfed babies tend to be calmer.

Mother’s milk aids in digestion. It also contains immunity building antibodies to guard against sickness and disease. In fact, it has target specific antibodies against germs contracted by mother or baby.

Mother’s milk contains the perfect balance of nutrients just right for the baby’s immature body systems. It even changes to meet the unique growing needs of the baby.

Mother’s milk changes during the night providing higher fat and calories.. This is why when babies are in a growth spurt they will nurse frequently during the night.

A mother’s body is designed to produce whatever the baby needs, as it is needed.

In my experience of nursing I learned there was no greater comfort I could provide for my children. It nourished, soothed and lulled them back to sleep.

This how it is between The Blessed Mother and us, her children.

The spirituality of a total consecration to Mary, or Marian entrustment, consists of trusting her to to respond to our pleas and supply all of the graces we need as she sees fit. It is about trusting ourselves to her complete care.

She responds immediately to our petitions. Just like the nursing bond shared between mother and child, it pleases her to give us an abundance of graces. She has so much for us. The more we turn to her in trust and receive what she gives us, the more closely bonded we are to her.

In the spiritual life, a connection has been found between the daily intake of her graces and lifelong spiritual/emotional health, wisdom and peace.

This promote healthy digestion. With her graces operating in us, we are able to take in and process, digest, whatever life throws at us.
Her graces are filled with target-specific antibodies that are sure to guard us against the sickness of evil as it comes at us. Our resistance is strengthened.

Just as mother’s milk changes to meet the health and growing needs of her infant, so are our Blessed Mother’s graces unique to our needs. Her mother’s milk is specially formulated for each one of us.

Our Lady of La Leche

Sometimes I am awake in the night and over the years I have noticed a pattern. If I try to fall back to sleep on my own I am unable to. But if I pray a Rosary, I almost always fall asleep peacefully after finishing the last decade. It is like being nursed back to sleep.

The comfort of Our Lady’s graces: mother’s milk, seem to reach us even on the physical level. And in her divine maternity the graces from those middle of night rosaries, the feedings, reach us and whomever we pray for.

Her graces are available to us always and anytime. But I feel there is something unique about what she feeds us in prayer during the night. I believe these graces are particularly rich and abundant. When our need is great we need to turn to her more… to nurse more. Our Lady will fill us with all of the nourishing graces we need as she sees fit.

A very powerful nutrient she brings us is The Holy Spirit. This is an antibody specifically targeted for our times, filing us with His gifts to stand against the evil of the culture that attempts to push its way into our lives. The Spirit fills us with needed wisdom and discernment, as well as peace and unshakable joy.

The greatest milk she gives us is the gift of her son Jesus in the Eucharist. She fed Him mother’s milk as an infant, now we are nourished with him.

Mary Mother of the Eucharist

As part of my daily consecration prayer to The Blessed Mother, I ask her to give me the milk I need for the day. I also do this throughout the day in specific moments. Just as a mother’s body knows what her baby needs, so does she know what is needed for us, the Body of Christ.

In this reflection on mother’s milk, I have been thinking about how I continue to feed my children at their stage in life.

Even teenagers associate mom with food. Especially teenage boys like mine. Many of our interactions in a day have to do with what is to eat.
But there is more to it than just this. They look to me for aid and assistance, for help. For love. Just in a different way than when they were younger. As this need changes in their growth, so does the expression of love and assistance I give them, the mother’s milk.

One thing is for sure, I need Mother Mary to do this. I need to be fed by her so I can feed my children.

If you are a mother, I invite you to reflect on the goodness that you impart to your children. And The gift you have in Mary’s divine maternity that fills you.

God bless

Leave a comment